Leadership

Grand Challenges Network Leadership

Staff

Grand Challenges Leadership Board

Carrie Pettus, PhD (Chair, Executive Committee)

President/CEO
Wellbeing & Equity Innovations
carrie@wellbeingandequity.org

Richard Barth, PhD, MSW (Past Chair, Executive Committee)

Professor and Dean Emeritus
University of Maryland School of Social Work
rbarth@ssw.umaryland.edu

Melissa Begg, ScD (Executive Committee)

Dean and Professor
Columbia University, School of Social Work
cssw-dean@columbia.edu

Schnavia Hatcher, PhD (Executive Committee)

Dean and Professor
University of Alabama, School of Social Work
schnavia.hatcher@ua.edu

Ron Manderscheid, PhD (Executive Committee)

Adjunct Professor, Former President/CEO of NACBHDD and NARMH
University of Southern California and Johns Hopkins University
rwmanderscheid@gmail.com

Michael S. Spencer, PhD (Executive Committee)

Professor and Ballmer Endowed Dean in Social Work
University of Washington School of Social Work
mspenc@uw.edu

Steve Anderson, PhD, MSW

Professor and Dean Emeritus
University of Illinois at Champaign-Urbana, School of Social Work
sandersn@illinois.edu

Quincy B., DSW

President & Owner
Erase the Divide LLC

Founder & Director
Erase the Redline Inc
quincyb@erasetheredline.org

Denise Burnette, PhD, MSSW

Samuel S. Wurtzel Endowed Chair in Social Work
President, Group for the Advancement of Doctoral Education in Social Work (GADE)

Virginia Commonwealth University, School of Social Work
jdburnette@vcu.edu

Sarah Butts, LMSW

Director of Public Policy
National Association of Social Workers
sbutts.nasw@socialworkers.org

Ilene Allinger Candreva, DSW, MSW, BCBA

Community inclusion and integrated work experience specialist
Suzanne Dworak-Peck School of Social Work, University of Southern California
IAC.Candreva@gmail.com

Julie Cederbaum, PhD, MSW, MPH

Associate Professor
Suzanne Dworak-Peck School of Social Work, University of Southern California
Chair, Public Health Social Work Section, American Public Health Association

jcederba@usc.edu

Jandel Crutchfield, PhD, MSW

Associate Professor
The University of Texas at Arlington, School of Social Work
jandel.crutchfield@uta.edu

William Elliott III, PhD, MSW

Professor of Social Work, Director, Joint Doctoral Program in Social Work and Social Science
University of Michigan, School of Social Work
willelli@umich.edu

Anthony Estreet, PhD, MBA, LCSW-C

Chief Executive Officer
National Association of Social Workers
naswceo@socialworkers.org

Catherine Gayle, PhD

Department Chair of Social Work, Associate Professor
Savannah State University
gaylec@savannahstate.edu

Neil B. Guterman, MSW, PhD

Paulette Goddard Professor and Dean Emeritus
New York University, Silver School of Social Work
nguterman@nyu.edu

Melissa Haley, MSW

National President
National Association of Black Social Workers
president@nabsw.org

Benjamin Henwood, PhD, MSW, MA

Albert G. and Frances Lomas Feldman Professor of Social Policy and Health & Director, Center for Homelessness, Housing and Health Equity Research
University of Southern California, Suzanne Dworak-Peck School of Social Work
bhenwood@usc.edu

Carol Hood, MBA

Past Board Chair
Mental Health America of California
carol.hood@rocketmail.com

Sean Joe, PhD

Benjamin E. Youngdahl Professor of Social Development
President of Society of Social Work Research
Brown School at Washington University in St. Louis

sjoe@wustl.edu

Charles Lewis, PhD

President
Congressional Research Institute for Social Work and Policy
celewisjr@crispinc.org

Mary McKay, PhD

Niedorff Family and Centene Corporation Dean of the Brown School
Washington University in St. Louis, Brown School
mary.mckay@wustl.edu

Laura Nissen, PhD, MSW

Professor and Dean Emeritus
Portland State University School of Social Work
nissen@pdx.edu

Desmond Upton Patton, PhD, MSW

Brian and Randi Schwartz University Professor, PIK University Professor, 
Chief Strategy Officer, SAFELab Director
University of Pennsylvania, School of Social Policy & Practice
dupatton@upenn.edu

Audrey Shillington, MPE, MSW, PhD

Dean
College of Health and Human Services, San José State University
Audrey.Shillington@sjsu.edu

Nancy Smyth, MSW, PhD

Professor and Dean Emeritus
University at Buffalo, School of Social Work
njsmyth@buffalo.edu

Marvin Southard, LCSW, DSW

Past Director & DSW Chair
LA County Department of Mental Health & University of Southern California, Suzanne Dworak-Peck School of Social Work
casasouthard@aol.com

Martell Teasley, PhD

Associate Provost for Strategic Academic Initiatives
University of Utah
martell.teasley@utah.edu

Halaevalu Vakalahi PhD, MSW, MEd

President and Chief Executive Officer
Council on Social Work Education
hvakalahi@cswe.org

Lynn Videka, PhD

Carol T. Mowbray Collegiate Professor of Social Work and Dean Emeritus
University of Michigan, School of Social Work
lvideka@umich.edu

Amy Ward, DSW, LCSW

Therapist, Assistant Professor and Program Director of Social Work
East Central University
Amyawar@ecok.edu

Gautam Yadama, MSSA, PhD

Dean and Professor 
Boston College, School of Social Work
gautam.yadama@bc.edu

Past Members

Darla Coffey, PhD
Past President and CEO
Council on Social Work Education (CSWE)

King Davis, PhD
Robert Lee Sutherland Chair in Mental Health and Social Policy
University of Texas at Austin, Steve Hicks School of Social Work

Diana M. DiNitto, PhD
Cullen Trust Centennial Professor in Alcohol Studies and Education and Distinguished Teaching Professor
University of Texas at Austin, Steve Hicks School of Social Work

Marilyn Flynn, PhD
Past Dean, University of Southern California
College of Social Work

Rowena Fong, EdD
Ruby Lee Piester Centennial Professor in Services to Children and Families
University of Texas at Austin, Steve Hicks School of Social Work

Sarah Gehlert, PhD
Past President, AASWSW
Dean, University of Southern California
College of Social Work

J. David Hawkins, PhD
Social Work Endowed Professor in Prevention
University of Washington Social Development Research Group

James Lubben, DSW
Professor Emeritus
Boston College, School of Social Work

Trina R. Shanks, PhD
Director, School of Social Work Community Engagement,
Harold R. Johnson Collegiate Professor of Social Work
Faculty Associate, Survey Research Center, Institute for Social Research
University of Michigan, School of Social Work

Robert Sheehan, MSW, MBA
Chief Executive Officer
Community Mental Health Association of Michigan

Michael Sherraden, PhD (Ex-Officio Executive Committee Member)
George Warren Brown Distinguished University Professor
Washington University in St. Louis, Brown School

Edwina Uehara, PhD (Chair Emeritus)
Professor and Ballmer Endowed Dean in Social Work
University of Washington, School of Social Work

Karina Walters, PhD
Professor, Katherine Hall Chambers Scholar Co-director, IWRI
University of Washington, School of Social Work

Patricia White, MSW
Executive Director, Fund for Social Policy Education and Practice
Silberman School of Social Work at Hunter College

James Herbert Williams, PhD (Executive Committee)
Arizona Centennial Professor and Past Director
Arizona State University School of Social Work

Luis H. Zayas, PhD
Dean and Robert Lee Sutherland Chair in Mental Health and Social Policy
University of Texas at Austin, Steve Hicks School of Social Work

NEW! Grand Challenges for Social Work Invites You to Go•Grander!