Leadership

Grand Challenges Network Leadership

Staff

Grand Challenges Leadership Board

Richard Barth, PhD, MSW (Chair, Executive Committee)

Past President, AASWSW
Professor and Past Dean
University of Maryland School of Social Work
rbarth@ssw.umaryland.edu

Marilyn Flynn, PhD (Executive Committee)

Dean and Professor (retired)
Suzanne Dworak-Peck, School of Social Work
University of Southern California
mflynn@usc.edu

Michael Sherraden, PhD (Ex-Officio Executive Committee Member)

George Warren Brown Distinguished University Professor
Washington University in St. Louis, Brown School
sherrad@wustl.edu

Michael S. Spencer, PhD (Executive Committee)

Presidential Term Professor
Director, Native Hawaiian, Pacific Islander & Oceanic Affairs
University of Washington School of Social Work
mspenc@uw.edu

James Herbert Williams, PhD (Executive Committee)

Arizona Centennial Professor and Past Director
Arizona State University
School of Social Work
james.herbert1@asu.edu

Darla Spence Coffey, PhD

President and Chief Executive Officer
Council on Social Work Education
dcoffey@cswe.org

Charles Lewis, PhD

President
Congressional Research Institute for Social Work and Policy
celewisjr@crispinc.org

Ron Manderscheid, PhD (Executive Committee)

Executive Director, National Association of County Behavioral Health & Developmental Disability Directors
National Association of County Behavioral Health & Developmental Disability Directors (NACBHDD)
rmanderscheid@nacbhd.org

Angelo McClain, PhD

Chief Executive Officer
National Association of Social Workers
naswceo@naswdc.org

Mary McKay, PhD

Niedorff Family and Centene Corporation Dean of the Brown School
Washington University in St. Louis, Brown School
mary.mckay@wustl.edu

Neil B. Guterman, MSW, PhD

Dean and Paulette Goddard Professor
New York University, Silver School of Social Work
nguterman@nyu.edu

Martell Teasley, PhD

Dean and Professor
University of Utah, College of Social Work
martell.teasley@utah.edu

Trina R. Shanks, PhD

Associate Professor
Faculty Associate, Survey Research Center, Institute of Social Research
University of Michigan, School of Social Work
trwilli@umich.edu

Audrey Shillington, MPE, MSW, PhD

Dean
College of Health and Human Services, San José State University
Audrey.Shillington@sjsu.edu

Robert Sheehan, MSW, MBA

Chief Executive Officer
Community Mental Health Association of Michigan
rsheehan@cmham.org

Benjamin Henwood, LCSW, PhD

Associate Professor & Director
Center for Homelessness, Housing and Health Equity Research & University of Southern California, Suzanne Doworak-Peck School of Social Work
bhenwood@usc.edu

Steve Anderson,MSW, PhD

Dean and Professor
University of Illinois at Champaign-Urbana, School of Social Work
sandersn@illinois.edu

Melissa Begg, ScD (Executive Committee)

Dean and Professor
Columbia University, School of Social Work
cssw-dean@columbia.edu

Gautam Yadama, MSSA, PhD

Dean and Professor 
Boston College, School of Social Work
gautam.yadama@bc.edu

Marvin Southard, LCSW, DSW

Past Director & DSW Chair
LA County Department of Mental Health & University of Southern California, Suzanne Dworak-Peck School of Social Work
casasouthard@aol.com

Nancy Smyth, MSW, PhD

Dean and Professor
University at Buffalo, School of Social Work
swdean@buffalo.edu

Percy Howard, LCSW

President and CEO
California Institute for Behavioral Health Solutions
phoward@cibhs.org

Emeritus Members

King Davis, PhD
Robert Lee Sutherland Chair in Mental Health and Social Policy
University of Texas at Austin, Steve Hicks School of Social Work
king.davis@austin.utexas.edu

Diana M. DiNitto, Ph.D.
Cullen Trust Centennial Professor in Alcohol Studies and Education and Distinguished Teaching Professor
University of Texas at Austin, Steve Hicks School of Social Work
ddinitto@mail.utexas.edu

Rowena Fong, EdD
Ruby Lee Piester Centennial Professor in Services to Children and Families
University of Texas at Austin, Steve Hicks School of Social Work
rfong@austin.utexas.edu

Sarah Gehlert, PhD
Past President, AASWSW
Dean, University of Southern California
College of Social Work
gehlert@usc.edu

J. David Hawkins, PhD
Social Work Endowed Professor in Prevention
University of Washington Social Development Research Group
jdh@uw.edu

James Lubben, DSW
Professor Emeritus
Boston College, School of Social Work
james.lubben@bc.edu

Edwina Uehara, PhD (Chair Emeritus)
Professor and Ballmer Endowed Dean in Social Work
University of Washington, School of Social Work
sswdean@uw.edu

Karina Walters, PhD
Professor, Katherine Hall Chambers Scholar Co-director, IWRI
University of Washington, School of Social Work
kw5@uw.edu

Patricia White, MSW
Executive Director, Fund for Social Policy Education and Practice
Silberman School of Social Work at Hunter College
pw182@hunter.cuny.edu

Luis H. Zayas, PhD
Dean and Robert Lee Sutherland Chair in Mental Health and Social Policy
University of Texas at Austin, Steve Hicks School of Social Work
dean-ssw@austin.utexas.edu

Subscribe today!Don’t miss out on Grand Challenges news and opportunities.

Covid-19 Resources